188BET金宝搏亚洲体育| 首页

We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our website:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
您知道吗?您可以访问Tripadvisor中文版。切换到中文网站

Northwest African American Museum

12 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Northwest African American Museum

12 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Recommended experiences in and around Seattle
from $29.03
More Info
from $51.45
More Info
from $86.06
More Info
Seattle CityPASS
475 Reviews
from $108.00
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
2300 S Massachusetts St, Seattle, WA 98144-3821
Getting there
Mount BakerSound Transit Link Light Rail18 min
Beacon HillSound Transit Link Light Rail17 min
Get to know the area
Historical & Heritage Tours

Beneath The Streets Underground History Tour

2,284 reviews
Get to know Seattle's first established neighborhood, Pioneer Square, by walking its underground pathways as they existed in the 1890s in the company of a guide. Trace the city’s history, from an Indigenous dwelling to its Gold Rush days and up?through its current state as a thriving modern neighborhood on this walking tour.
$29.03 per adult
12Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 7
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gabriel P wrote a review Aug 2020
Lagos, Nigeria1 contribution
It's was a wonderful experience, the one I will not forget. I was able to see so many historical things. I really enjoyed myself.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Bonnie Q wrote a review Sep 2019
Vancouver, Canada59 contributions10 helpful votes
Our first view of the iconic former school, made us understand and remember that this building holds significance as the first Seattle area school which welcomed African American students. When we entered we were treated to the outstanding artistry of local artist Warren Pope who expresses his artistic views through sculpture, paintings and installations. As a child of the U.S. apartheid, I was amazed to witness the exacting, colorful and important messaging of his exhibition. His work is amazing, significant, beautifully rendered and sometimes very disturbing. There are lots of photographic displays, which share insider information, facts as well as auditory and televised components throughout the Museum. I highly recommend a visit for all of us committed to history, inclusion and the honoring of all of us--world citizens. This an opportunity to revisit some hard moments not only in Seattle's history but also to understand the richness of Seattle's African American experience and community, surrounded by artifacts, artistic expression and knowledge.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Sincerecook wrote a review Apr 2019
Waxhaw, North Carolina13 contributions2 helpful votes
When we vacation with our children, we love to learn while we travel. Since were not familiar with Seattle, the Northwest and the history of African Americans in the area, we wanted to learn more. The museum used to be a school, but the curators have done a good job of turning it into a museum. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The museum is small, yet it gives you a glimpse of how and why African Americans and other immigrants of color decided to choose the Northwest as a place to live. The museum also has a Jimi Hendricks exhibit which was very interesting and informative. I dislike to admit it, but I knew very little about this gifted artist and musician until visiting here. Our kids (4,6, and 7) enjoyed pressing the buttons on the various displays and seeing and old telephone and television. Plan to spend around 1.5 hours here.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
Helpful
Share
travellinggal10 wrote a review Feb 2019
75 contributions30 helpful votes
This museum is on the small side. They have an exhibit on the areas African American history. We went there for the Jimi Hendrix exhibit that they have until early May 2019. Since Jimi was from the area this felt like the best place to have the exhibit and show his life. Very friendly and helpful staff is also always a plus.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2019
Helpful
Share
Enat3 wrote a review Aug 2018
Portland, Oregon81 contributions28 helpful votes
This small museum has quite the story to tell and it's one all should hear. The staff were great and gave my family a brief introduction into the location (building and neighborhood) and the set up of the museum. This made it easier to navigate. My teens were impacted by the Black Panther exhibit and I loved the art currently on display. If you already have knowledge of the history of Blacks within the Pacific Northwest, you still will gain more knowledge. Watching the videos and listening to the voices of those from the area is worthwhile. It took us a little over two hours to experience it all. Would have loved to have seen more books sold in the gift shop by black authors.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Northwest African American Museum