188BET金宝搏亚洲体育| 首页

We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our website:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
您知道吗?您可以访问Tripadvisor中文版。切换到中文网站

Richard Allen Cultural Center

15 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Richard Allen Cultural Center

15 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
15Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 13
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Clovis A wrote a review Sep 2019
117 contributions13 helpful votes
Wonderful small place! The collection of items relative of black people history is very well chosen. Every item show important aspects of black people history in USA. The gentleman that received and guided us was so kind and show a very good knowledge of everything in the museum. We loved the experience and recommend to everyone visiting Leavenworth.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Teachgood2 wrote a review Sep 2019
Newport News, Virginia, United States5 contributions1 helpful vote
I have wanted to visit the underground railroad tunnels for the past 4 years and finally got to do so. You need to make a reservation to ensure the tunnels are dry. Edna took us thru the tunnels and explained how they ran from store to store and down to the railroad tracks. Edna Wagner was very knowledgeable about how the train cars were marked to help this slaves know if it was safe. The museum itself has a plethora of artifacts from KKK outfits to wonderful statues by Eddie Dixon, as well as the remarkable history about the Buffalo soldiers and their part in America's history from 1866 to 1917. William was the museum guide who had a vast bounty of history of Leavenworth and schools prior to desegregation. This museum gives one a better understanding of black folks struggle. I am so thrilled I got to experience all this museum had to offer and understand the 1800s and 1900s time frame. Being from Virginia I had a clear understanding of colonial times. This helped open up another window of history for me! Well worth a visit!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TeddyDean wrote a review Mar 2019
Wichita, Kansas683 contributions20 helpful votes
The Richard Allen Cultural Center and Museum was opened in 1992 to honor African American history in Leavenworth, Kansas. Once inside the impressive front of the building, you soon find yourself in the former home of Captain William Bly, a Buffalo Soldier during World War I, which is decorated to look as it would have in the early 1900's. The Museum contains many artifacts and a great deal of historical information. The staff and volunteers are friendly, knowledgeable and clearly proud of their institution. Also note that the Richard Allen Cultural Center and Museum is one of 8 sites/institutions on The Kansas African American History Trail.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Helpful
Share
Calmjohn wrote a review Mar 2019
Leavenworth, Kansas3,204 contributions433 helpful votes
This museum tells it all for Leavenworth. The tunnels used in the mid 1800s, the black history of the town and quite a bit about the fort. All that I can say is that if you are in Leavenworth you should visit this museum.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Seeall50statesLady wrote a review Dec 2018
Laurel, Maryland40 contributions5 helpful votes
While attending the dedication for the 6888th at Fort Leavenworth, we were invite to The Richard Allen Cultural Center. This is a great place to visit. It is full of history about the Buffalo Soldiers and the Black History of the Leavenworth area. The director, Edna Wagner is truly dedicated to getting the word out about the center. There is a program for children too. So, stop by for a visit and please make a donation.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Richard Allen Cultural Center