188BET金宝搏亚洲体育| 首页

We noticed that you're using an outdated browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly. Upgrading your browser will ensure the best possible experience on our website:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
您知道吗?您可以访问Tripadvisor中文版。切换到中文网站
Message from Tripadvisor: Temporarily closed

Harriet Beecher Stowe Center

295 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Message from Tripadvisor: Temporarily closed

Harriet Beecher Stowe Center

295 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Hartford
from $12.31
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
77 Forest St, Hartford, CT 06105-3243
Getting there
Hartford Station19 min
Get to know the area
Hartford Scavenger Hunt: The Riches Of Hartford
Self-guided Tours & Rentals

Hartford Scavenger Hunt: The Riches Of Hartford

1 review
Let’s Roam is the #1 app-led scavenger hunt company. Walk to all the best landmarks and hidden gems, answering trivia questions and solving challenges. Work with your team or compete against them, as you learn new facts and create memorable experiences. Let’s Roam Scavenger Hunts are great as an everyday activity, or for bachelorette parties, birthday parties, corporate team building events and more! Each player chooses an interactive role, with challenges varying by person.
$12.31 per adult
295Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 146
  • 93
  • 34
  • 10
  • 12
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Yaacov D wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
It is obvious to all that Mrs. Stowe believed in the truth of the Bible, its placement in society as a beacon of truth, and its authority as the word of God. Just read her letter to Frederick Douglas, and you will see. It is equally obvious that she drew her strength and commitment from this sacred text to advocate for the very great and positive social transformation that she did. How terribly disappointing to then see the arrogance of those who run this home now. Nothing of the ethos that actually shaped history is meaningfully presented. Rather, in its stead you will find critical race theory, contemporary victimization narratives, and an assorted collection of materials that are 100% secular in their approach. While the staff is clearly free to disagree with the Biblical sources, it is disgusting to be in a place where the staff exhibit such profound disrespect for the very person whose life they are trying to celebrate.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Poppy67Lancaster_Pa_ wrote a review Mar 2020
Lancaster, Pennsylvania16 contributions4 helpful votes
We had the pleasure of visiting the Harriet Beecher Stowe Center on Sunday, March 8th. Our tour guide was Jasmine. She was very knowledgeable about Harriet and the things that were going on in the country. Jasmine was very lively with a smile during her presentation. She made you feel comfortable right from the start. A positive point in her presentation was introducing herself and having us introduce our self and tell her where we were from. SUPER TOUR!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Irish451006 wrote a review Feb 2020
Hartford, Connecticut92 contributions17 helpful votes
We toured the house with several guides. They knew a lot of back ground about the family. They are revamping the house to what it was It is better to view it in the spring so you can see the flowers.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Diane E wrote a review Nov 2019
Saratoga Springs, New York126 contributions46 helpful votes
Like other reviewers mentioned, this is a tour about the pressing issues of the day by a woman who experienced personal loss and a sense of maternal empathy to the people called slaves. It is less about architecture and material possessions yet we tour a beautiful home with a magnolia tree in its backyard. The tour awakens the core beliefs of the tourist in a non-threatening lets have a conversation way. HBS was not a rebel by any means but I do think that the influences of the ministry within her family resulted in her firm belief that Christians do not subjugate others in slavery although she apparently hinted her belief that the races were not equal. While the focus of the tour was on Uncle Tom's Cabin, HBS actually authored 30 books. It was interesting to learn that Uncle Tom's Cabin was published in a newspaper in sections which increased readership thus fanning the flame for abolitionism. It is interesting that a woman, without any voting rights, influenced many citizens to do what was right for human rights.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Jules B wrote a review Oct 2019
Nashville, Tennessee382 contributions96 helpful votes
I was a little hesitant about this tour after reading other reviews about the intensity and controversy of their experiences. I guess it depends on your tour guide and your particular group. We had a smallish, pretty calm group so it was fine. You are told at the beginning that the tour is focused more on the ideas and topics Beecher wrote about and was passionate about rather than the strictly historical facts and contents of the house. I found it fascinating and challenging to compare this to modern times. It would be nice if they would throw in more details about the home to bring a well-rounded view of Beecher's life. It will definitely make you think about history's impact on current events. I'd recommend also visiting Mark Twain's home, right across the lawn, to get the full picture of their friendship and intersecting interests. Allow about an hour or so for the tour.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Harriet Beecher Stowe Center